Post by TrevortheAwesome on Jun 8, 2006 17:08:08 GMT -5
From the bit on CECs in the rules, the order of play is:
Planetary Conditions (Corrosive limits DVs to 23) FP/Merc Contracts/SA (Merc FP could remove any defensive modifiers) Gear (BAP now comes into play) Pilot (Julz's Marked for Death).
So some target that uses evade, a pilot, called shot modifier, camo etc to gets its defence up nice and high is going to suffer big time if it can't cancel Corrosive Atmosphere (or Merc FP).
Its gotta be worth a go...
Yes, normally that's right, but you can't have it both ways. The FAQ entry states that Corrosive applies AFTER ALL OTHER MODIFIERS HAVE BEEN APPLIED. You can't have it apply both at the beginning AND the end of the Order of Resolution.
Um... Trev, when you make a RCO, you always make a RCA. If you make a RCA, you don't necessarily have a RCO -- You may have a (ranged)AO. It is the order type that is different, not the attack. In both cases, you make a RCA upon resolution of the order. That's why homing beacon can be used indirectly. Look at the first paragraph on page 23 of the ROW... "To make a ranged combat attack, a unit must be given a RCO or an AO."
It's also why homing beacon can't be used on an AO.
It's also why you can AO and make an indirect attack that doesn't use homing beacon, incidently.
I concur... It is very very far from being intuitive. I does make my BRAIN hurt also. I wish they had been much more implicit about what can and can't be done. I have been to many venues and have seen lots of people who don't know the difference. Actually I was suprised when I did it wrong and someone caught me on it. I just isn't easy and straightforward. I think each ability should say. (Can be used with AO or Can't be used with AO or special attacks even)
It's really not difficult. If a gear, SE or attack type (indirect in this case) specifies that it can be used with a RCA, it can be used during ANY type of order that allows a RCA to be made, RCO or RAO.
If a gear, SE or attack type states that it can only be used with one type of order -- a RCO for example -- it can't be used with any other type (AO)
In all cases, the order type is the limiter, not the fact that you are making an attack. You make a RC attack with both types of order.