The explanation of Wolf Strike squadron cards leaves me with many questions. First, must I have each element listed on the Squadron card to make the squadron? Example, squadron says ATV and Hoverbike. Must I bring an ATV and a hoverbike to play the squadron card?
Second, must I have ONE of each element- or may I have MORE than 1. As above, squadron says ATV and Hoverbike. Could I bring 4 ATV and 4 hoverbike?
Third, and related to second. Could I bring multiple squadrons. Example, could I bring 8 hoverbikes and 8ATVs and call it 4 squadrons all getting the squadron benefit?
Consider SQ007-when an element of this squadron makes an attack against a mech it gets +1 damage-elements are CBA, Purifier BA, Simian BA and Attack APC. Could I mix my squadron elements with the rest of my army and then use formation fire with non-squadron units to help my squadron unit to hit, and then claim the extra damage.
MY BRAIN HURTS......
Fourth, must the squadron remain in base to base or chain contact?
No, but you won't reduce the cost of the Sqn Card by the relevant number of points for every element you leave out. For example, the 21st Century Lancers have a Cizin, Partisan AA, Tokugawa and a Zibbler. Each different element you include removes 3 points from the basic cost (5/150). If the Lancers only use a Cizin and a Tokugawa, you will only save 6 points on the cost of the card.
Must I Have 1 of each, or May I Have More Than 1?
You can have as many as you like but if you have more than one of each element, you still only get the one deduction from the 1/150 points cost. So, in the example above, if you added a second Tokugawa, your saving would still be 6 points as you only have 2 different elements from the Lancers in your Battleforce.
The Sqn Cards that I have seen do not have a frequency listed on them. This should mean that there is no limit to the number of times they can be used in a turn. If your Sqn Card gives you, say, +1 to your damage value and you have 4 different elements in your Battlefroce from that Sqn, there is no reason why each element, assuming it is chosen as the primary attacker, should not gain the +1 modifier if 4 separate orders are used.
Mixing Sqn Elements
I think this depends on the text. Only 1 Sqn Card (Caesar's Cohort) states that an attack must be carried out entirely by members of the Sqn. Others just refer to the fact that apply to elements of the Sqn which will mean that these can be mixed with other units/pieces - probably to good effect.
I've only seen the initial blurb on Sqn Cards (back in August News?) and haven't seen any clarifications as yet, so I'd like to think this summary is OK.
IIRC, the two Squad cards that I thought the most of were Ford's Falcon Killers and Bannockburn's Bandits. Both give -5 points per element taken - so the potential for a free squadron card, which none of the others offers. Since every squad card has at least one crappy element, you can choose to leave that one at home and take the other three, and still pay only 5 points for the card.
Plus the combat bonuses on these two seemed to be the most powerful: +2 attack vs unmodified speed values of 10 or better (FFK) and all elements gain Infiltrate (BB). FFK basically negates Evade on many fast pieces, and BB allows some early positioning and VC 3. Both allow formations regardless of faction as well.
Cyclops Company would be great, if it actually followed the fiction text on the card. Since it's One-Eyed Jack Farrell's company, you'd think they could at least repair his Atlas! Oh well . . .
I'm not too impressed with the rest of the bunch. I'm sure one of the better players on this forum will have a different opinion.
Not so much of a rules thing, but I thought I'd take a look at each Sqn Card and see if they do warrant serious attention:
SQ-001 BANNOCKBURN'S RAIDERS
MHi APC, Bellona, PAL Suit, Laser Team (-5 per elm)
Elms gain infiltrate.
An interesting choice of units. Will allow some of the inf to infiltrate as far as 16 inches into the table and the 2 vehicles up to 10 inches. Added to that, many of the PAL Suits and MHi APCs are equipped with Recon. Without using orders, it will allow some inf to move into firing range of your opp's DZ on turn 1. Also, the MHis will be able to start 10 inches in and, again with no orders being used, move a further 5 in and drop - TTL POGs on turn 1 in your opp's DZ.
Maximum point saving is 20 out of 20.
SQ-002 CAESAR'S COHORTS
LRM Battery, Padilla, Ravager, Saxon APC (-4 per elm).
If a RC formation is made up entirely of Sqn elms, primary firer gets +1 damage. Also gain +1 speed when in formation.
Only the LRMs and Padillas have the range to consider being part of a RC formation. Saxon is already a fast mover. The only card that requires the elms work togehter to gain the ability.
Maximum saving is 16 pts.
SQ-003 ECHO COMPANY
Combat Techs, Grey Death BA, Inner Sphere BA, SRM Team (-3 points per elm).
+1 to DV when making CC attack.
Boosts the elms to 3 damage when making a CC attack which is pretty powerful. The BR Inner Sphere have flamers which would take them even higher. Maximum point saving is 12.
Poor choice of troops and an ability that requires infantry to get in close.
SQ-004 FIRING SQUAD
Skanda Tank, Kite, Clan BA (-4 per elm)
Elms not dealt pushing damage if they receive a 2nd order token from participating in a RC formation.
A useful ability with a poor choice of troops. Only the Skanda has the range consider being part of a RC formation.
Maximum saving is 12 points.
SQ-005 WOLF GUARDIANS
CBA, J12A1 APC, Purifier BA, Simian BA (-4 per elm)
When an elm makes a CC or a RCA, it gets +1 to its damage.
Not sure what the APC is doing here but the 3 BA are all pretty sound choices. The CNC CBA and the HS and WH Simians carry flamers which will add to the damage. Those with Arm P will now carry a real threat.
Maximum saving is 16 points
SQ-006 CYCLOPS COMPANY
Manteuffel Tank, Monocycle, Morningstar HQ, Shock Troopers (-3 per elm)
Elms can make CC attacks and may repair each other
A useful ability for tanks with a min range of 2 or more and repair is always a good tactic to have up your sleeve. Another poor choice of troops, although a Monocycle repair swarm would be fun to see!
Maximum saving is 12 points
SQ-007 21ST CENTURY ARMOURED LANCERS
Cizin, Partisan AA, Tokugawa, Zibbler (-3 per elm)
Elms ignore the effects of PCCs that reduce maximum range or increase the DVs of opponents.
The only vehicle that would be concerned over dropping its max range is the Partisan and a few Tokugawas - the rest are all short-ranged. Very dependant upon the PCC in effect, would allow you to play these PCCs and remain immune from them while your opponent suffered. The Tokugawa is a decent (cheap) drop option and is likely to be the one to benfit from this.
Maximum saving is 12 points.
SQ-008 FORD's FALCON KILLERS
Glory FST, Partisan AA, Purifier BA, TGR (-5 per elm)
When firing at a figure with an unmodified speed of 10 or more, elms of this sqn get +2 to their AVs.
A powerful ability with a good choice of troops. Three boast ranges of 12-14 inches and come equipped with good AVs and/or IT. The Purifier are also solid troops. What will that ability count against: