Another battlemaster disagreed with me and I figured I would ask for wisdom here.
Ok, mech has two heat rolls on his dial.. Heat sink overload and Shutdown roll. Fails both. Mech shuts down but has to move heat dial 1 click. On the next click there is a shutdown/restart roll. The question is whether or not the mech gets to make the Restart roll immediately.
Post by asburygrad on Oct 25, 2006 16:54:42 GMT -5
Page 21 of the rulebook states, "Some die rolls may result in additional heat gain. Apply any new heat gain immediately, and then make any new rolls required as a result of these heat effects. Continue this process until the Mech either does not gain additional heat or becomes shutdown. . . . In some cases, multiple heat effects may appear on the dial at the same time. If they do, roll a separate die for each heat effect and apply the results to the Mech at the same time."
If you apply the results at the same time, then you have a shutdown Mech that is one click further down it's heat dial than before. Neither the failed heat sink roll nor the failed shutdown roll apply first. If you apply both at the same time, I don't see any room for interpretation there.
In order to get the restart roll, the Mech must receive some type of cooling in order to move the heat dial to the new position. If the shutdown occured first, THEN the heat sink roll, I could see someone arguing that you would get the restart roll. But since both apply at the same time, you don't get to make the restart roll.